**Summer Reading Challenge 2010**

The Aussie Readers group on Goodreads has the Summer Reading Challenge where you select books for at least five or up to the whole 10 of the challenge questions for you summer reading project.

1. Celebrate Australia!
Choose one book from our Aussie Readers group bookshelf

Having really enjoyed Peter FitzSimons’ Kokoda and Tobruk, I have a few more of his books on my TBR list so my choice for this question is;
Charles Kingsford Smith and Those Magnificent Men – Peter FitzSimons

(I’ll probably also grab Nancy Wake while I’m at it.)

2. Lighten the load! (Choose one book from your TBR list.)
I have been reading through A Song of Ice and Fire for a while now currently coming to the end of book 3 so I’ll keep going with;
A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4) – George R.R. Martin

3. Choose a book that’s been made into (or referenced in) a movie, TV series or play.
I’ll go outside my comfort zone with this one and select a book that T’s book group read earlier this year;
Eat, Pray, Love – Elizabeth Gilbert

My back up plan is;
The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook A Tale of Sex, Money, Genius and Betrayal – Ben Mezrich

4. Choose a book with a word related to Summer in the title (e.g. Summer, heat, beach, holidays etc.)
Under the Tuscan Sun – Frances Mayes

5. Oprah’s visiting Australia in December. Pick a book from one of the following two Oprah Book Lists
Right off the bat, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a book club list with so many books that I don’t want to read, I guess I am way outside the target demographic. I have selected;
The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett

I’ll work with the Opera Book Club reading guide to see if the demographic issues is really a factor.

6. A few of our group members have just had a baby or are due any second! To help them celebrate choose a new release book from 2010 or 2011 to read.

Possibly The Gaslight Dogs (Middle Light #1) – Karin Lowachee, Behemoth (Leviathan, #2) – Scott Westerfeld or Factotum (Monster Blood Tattoo, #3) – Cornish, D.M. ?

But I’ll go with the Sword & Laser current reading pick;
How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe – Charles Yu

7. Uh Oh!! It’s Schoolies week!!!! Lock up your kids and choose a YA novel to read or a book that features some teenage characters.
I tend to have a heap of YA material on my TBR list as I use them for Scouting program themes. A quick check of the lists brings these three that I’ll toss a coin to choose between 😉
Leviathan (Leviathan, #1) – Scott Westerfeld
The Emperor of Nihon-Ja (Ranger’s Apprentice, #10) – John Flanagan
Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) – Cassandra Clare

Coin tossed;
Leviathan (Leviathan, #1) – Scott Westerfeld

8. Ho Ho Ho! Santa’s on his way… Choose a book that has a Christmas/Winter theme or reference to Christmas/Winter/Cold/Ice/Snow in the Title, story or cover.
My first though was to go with Letters From Father Christmas -J.R.R. Tolkien or Hogfather (Discworld, #20) – Terry Pratchett, but The Nine Tailors – Dorothy L. Sayers is probably a better choice. I’ll work on this a bit more.

9. Have you checked out the excellent Literature Map Website?
Type in the name of a favourite author, choose the author closest to him/her and select one of their books to read.

As I have currently been reading through Joe Abercrombie and George R.R. Martin’s works, I plugged George R.R. Martin in to the Map. From this output I’ll go with Robin Hobb as the author as I have been recommended to try some of her works before but haven’t done so yet.

Starting at the beginning;
Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy, #1) – Robin Hobb

10. It’s Valentine’s Day in February! Choose a book with a touch of Romance.
T’s asked me to read this aloud with her for a while a swapping chapters, probably a good time to do so;
Chocolat – Joanne Harris

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to **Summer Reading Challenge 2010**

  1. Mandy says:

    I love reading how people arrive at the book choices they make. Looks like you’ve got a great summer line-up VP. Great blog too!

  2. Pingback: **March Monthly Challenge – Food and Lifestyle** « Visible Procrastinations

Leave a Reply

