Tour de France 2011 – Stage 16

Stage Details:

Tonight is stage 16, Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux to Gap, 162.5 km

Calm before the storm
The Alps are reached with a fairly straight forward run through the ruggedly beautiful Drôme region to Gap. The overall contenders will be happy to save themselves for three much-tougher days to come, which all but guarantees a break going early and staying clear all the way to the finish. The road rises steadily all the way until the main difficulty of the day, the 2nd-category Col de Manse. At almost 10km, this climb is long enough to split the lead group. The drop from it into the finish takes in the Rochette descent where Joseba Beloki memorably came to grief in 2003.






Stage 16 results
01 HUSHOVD, Thor (GARMIN-CERVELO) 3h 31′ 38″
03 HESJEDAL, Ryder (GARMIN-CERVELO) + 00′ 02″
04 MARTIN, Tony (HTC-HIGHROAD) + 00′ 38″
05 IGNATYEV, Mikhail (KATUSHA) + 00′ 52″
07 ROY, Jérémy (FDJ)
08 MARCATO, Marco (VACANSOLEIL-DCM) + 01′ 55″
10 GRIVKO, Andriy (ASTANA) + 01′ 58″

Gap is a good place for riders who like to toil off the front of the bunch and once again the day’s break produced the stage winner, with Thor Hushovd prevailing in the city at the base of the Alps. It was his second victory in this year’s Tour and came after a massive effort in the day’s escape group.
The Garmin-Cervélo rider managed to take his place in the much-anticipated move off the front of the peloton – which was at a premium today – and benefited from the presence of his teammate Ryder Hesjedal in the finale to overcome countryman Edvald Boasson Hagen, with the Canadian in third.

Australia’s Cadel Evans has moved up a place to be second overall after the 16th stage of the Tour de France won by Norwegian Thor Hushovd.
Evans finished the stage 11th, 4min 23sec behind Hushovd (Garmin-Cervelo) to gain time on Frenchman Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), who retained the race leader’s yellow jersey.
Two-time runner-up Evans is now 1:45 behind Voeckler as the race moves into the Alps.
SBS Cycling Central

General classification after stage 16
01 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 69:00:56
02 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:45
03 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:01:49
04 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:03:03
05 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:03:26
06 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:03:42
07 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:03:49
08 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:04:01
09 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:06:04
10 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 0:07:55

This entry was posted in cycling, tdf, tour de france. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s