Tour de France 2011 – Stage 20 ITT

Stage Details:

Tonight is stage 20, Grenoble (ITT), 43 km

JEAN-FRANÇOIS PESCHEUX’S ANALYSIS : A strong man rather than a specialist
“This is the race’s only individual time trial, as the one in the first week was a team time trial test, while putting another one into the middle of the race didn’t really serve any great purpose. The profile is rolling and the road does climb, although there aren’t any cols as such. Victory won’t automatically go to a specialist because the final time trial of the Tour is a very physical test that suits a strong man – last year’s Bordeaux-Pauillac test won by Cancellara was an exception. In this solitary exercise, there is no way a rider can bluff or hide in the wheels of their team-mates. But I think that the Tour will have been decided before Grenoble. It is often the third place on the podium, the best young rider classification or the team prize that is decided on this stage.”

Tonight’s 42.5 km time trial is on the same course as the third stage of this year’s Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré, won by Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad) in 55 m 27s an average speed of 46km/h. Cadel Evans (BMC Racing) finished sixth in the Grenoble time trial at 1:20 behind Martin.

* The Spin: Stage 20 [The Inner Ring]
* Research chief discusses Evans’ bike [ABC News]





Stage 20 results
01 MARTIN, Tony (HTC-HIGHROAD) 55′ 33″
02 EVANS, Cadel (BMC RACING) + 00′ 07″
04 DE GENDT, Thomas (VACANSOLEIL-DCM) + 01′ 29″
05 PORTE, Richie (SAXO BANK SUNGARD) + 01′ 30″
06 PERAUD, Jean-Christophe (AG2R LA MONDIALE) + 01′ 33″
08 CANCELLARA, Fabian (LEOPARD-TREK) + 01′ 42″
09 VELITS, Peter (HTC-HIGHROAD) + 02′ 03″
11 DANIELSON, Thomas (GARMIN-CERVELO) + 02′ 08″
12 BOASSON HAGEN, Edvald (SKY) + 02′ 10″
13 VOECKLER, Thomas (EUROPCAR) + 02′ 14″
14 MONFORT, Maxime (LEOPARD-TREK) + 02′ 36″
16 MALORI, Adriano (LAMPRE – ISD) + 02′ 38″
18 WESTRA, Lieuwe (VACANSOLEIL-DCM) + 02′ 39″
19 RIBLON, Christophe (AG2R LA MONDIALE)
20 SCHLECK, Frank (LEOPARD-TREK) + 02′ 41″

Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) finally donned that long-awaited yellow jersey on Saturday going into Sunday’s parade to Paris as Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad) won stage 20 of the 2011 Tour de France.
Evans began the day 57 seconds down on race leader Andy Schleck (Leopard-Trek), but it proved a very small bar to hop during the 42.5km individual time trial in Grenoble. At the first time check the yellow jersey had already conceded 36 seconds of that advantage to the Australian, and at the finish he had surrendered even more — Martin took the stage in 55:34, but Evans took second, just seven seconds slower, and the yellow jersey along with it.
Andy Schleck finally hit the line two and a half minutes slower than the new race leader and slipped out of yellow into second overall, while brother Fränk hit the line in 58:14, good enough for third place on GC.

The man who took out the stage was the same rider who dominated on the course during the Dauphiné, Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad). The German won in a time six seconds faster than that which he recorded back in June.
The HTC-Highroad rider, who has been a vital workhorse for Mark Cavendish’s ambitions during this Tour, showed that in all likelihood he could be the heir apparent to Fabian Cancellara, convincingly beating the current time trial world champion and the rest of the field, with a time of 55:33.
“I was pretty nervous when I saw Cadel Evans coming into the finish,” said Martin afterwards. “Now I’m really happy; for a long time my biggest goal was to win a stage at the Tour – now it has happened.”

General classification after stage 20
01 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 83:45:20
02 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:01:34
03 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:02:30
04 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 0:03:20
05 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:03:57
06 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:04:55
07 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:06:05
08 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:07:23
09 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:08:15
10 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:10:11
11 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar 0:10:43
12 Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 0:11:29
13 Kevin De Weert (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team 0:16:29
14 Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur – Sojasun 0:18:36
15 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ 0:21:20
16 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Team RadioShack 0:26:23
17 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:27:12
18 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:27:14
19 Peter Velits (Svk) HTC-Highroad 0:28:54
20 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:31:42

This entry was posted in cycling, tdf, tour de france. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s