2014 Mars Australian National Road Championships

* 2014 Mars Australian National Road Championships – Elite Men

“We went over the top of the climb one by one. I was the first over. Cadel Evans (BMC) followed me. Cam [Meyer] was the next to crest the climb. Then came Richie Porte (Team Sky). The four of us came together again over the top, and that’s how things stayed until the final.
After the final selection of four riders had been made, I was really confident. I fancied my chances in a sprint against Cadel and Richie, but I had the luxury of having Cam with me. Cam was intent on making sure we got to the finish as a single unit, and thanks to his work, I was able to rely on my sprint to finish off the job. ” Simon Gerrans

“It’s great to come back and ride and see the NRS teams take it up, It’s not too long now until we see a lot of guys signed from Australia. .. It is such a good, competitive field and there are some strong guys out there riding NRS. Some of them deserve it [a professional contract], because they are much better than the guys riding around in Europe.” Richie Porte

* 2014 Mars Australian National Road Championships – Elite Women

“To wear the jersey over in Europe is a pretty big deal for us. We’re the only Australian pro-team, so it’s important for us” Gracie Elvin

* Caleb Ewan winning the U23 Men’s Road Race! #roadnats

“I’m over the moon. I’m so happy with how I went. I feel a bit more relaxed now, I couldn’t really soak it in after the crit on Thursday but to get both titles, I’m really happy with that.” Caleb Ewan

(moved from This weeks links (2014-01-13))

LINKS:
[1] Road Nationals
[2] Cycling Australia Road National Championships 2014 [SBS – CyclingCentral]
[3] A showdown of Australia’s best: 2014 Men’s National Road Championships [CyclingTips]
[4] 2014 Cycling Australia Road National Championships [CyclingFans]

This entry was posted in cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

